How to delete Telegram account permanently? – 6 Easy Steps

How to Delete Telegram Account? | Representational image

For any reason, do you want to delete Telegram account permanently? Then you are in the right place. There is only one way to delete Telegram account instantly. Unlike WhatsApp and Facebook, deleting your account in telegram is not simple but this article has a step-by-step guide to make the process easy for you.

Also Read: Telegram v/s WhatsApp – Full Comparison

Note – Please keep in mind that deleting your Telegram account will delete all your chats and it is irreversible but you can make account again with same the same mobile number again!

Step-by-step guide to delete telegram account permanently from every device

  • Step 1 – Go to my.telegram.org
  • Step 2 – Enter your phone number for which you want to delete account (with your country code) & Press ‘Next’
  • Step 3 – Telegram will send you a login code. Copy that code and paste it in ‘Confirmation code’ tab & Press ‘Sign in’
  • Step 4 – Now click on “Delete Account”
  • Step 5 – (Optional: Enter the reason of leaving telegram) Press “Delete my account”
  • Step 6 – Click “Yes, delete my account” in the warning pop-up and DONE!!

Yayy! Now your Telegram account is successfully deleted

Still have confusion? I have made a small video to guide you through deleting your telegram account. It is posted below you can watch it and if you like you can Subscribe to Telegram Trends on YouTube.

[youtube v=”hLWHufMv0uA” center=”yes” lazyload=”yes”]

Deleting your ‘Telegram Account’ is not the same as ‘Uninstalling or Deleting Telegram App’ from your mobile phone. They are both separate things. I will summarize both cases for you below…

What happens if you delete your telegram account?

All your chats (personal chats, group chats, saved messages) deletes permanently. And this can not be undone or recovered

But don’t loose hope because you can reuse the same mobile number to make telegram account anytime!

What happens if you Uninstall/Delete Telegram App from your mobile or other devices?

Uninstalling Telegram App or Client from the device has no effects on any chats (exception – secret chats) or media because you can re-login anytime from any device and all your chats will be as-it-is restored and you can download media again.

About Secret Chat – As secret chats are end-to-end encrypted, uninstalling the app from any device will delete the secrete chat done from that device.

Other Important Thing – Telegram Account Self-Destruct

Related to deleting the telegram account, you should also know that telegram offers a unique feature of “Account Self-Destruct” – Means if you do not come online at least once, within the selected period, your telegram account will be deleted along with all the messages and contacts

You can choose the period of account’s self-destruction from 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, or 1 year as per your wish.

Step-by-step guide for changing the Account Self-destruct period

  • Step 1) – Tap setting from Telegram App’s Menu (Menu button is on the top left corner of Telegram App home screen)

Step 2) – Go to ‘Privacy and security’

Step 3 – Tap on ‘Delete my account if away for’

Step 4) – Choose time to Self-destruct your account if you are away for the selected period

Done! Now you are all set!

Enjoy using telegram. And if you are interested you can connect with Telegram Trends in Telegram through Telegram Trends Channel.

How to delete telegram account on iPhone/ios?

Telegram is not biased to any kind of device or operating system. The process to delete Telegram account on iPhone/ios or any other device remains exactly the same which is mentioned step-by-step in this article above!

Also Read: Best Telegram Channels to join in 2020
Also Read: Best Telegram Bots to use in 2020

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *